May 19th – On the mend

Dear me,

Gratitude! So much gratitude today.

I am grateful that everyone stayed patient and followed the instructions to not allow any weight on my mom’s broken leg for the last 2.5 weeks. Apparently, that was perfect because today the orthopedist cleared her for full use as long as she can tolerate it.

Wahoo!!

I am grateful for the wonderful rehab staff at the center who were about as happy as us to be able to start working on standing and walking and shifting weight and moving from the chair to the bathroom etc. We kind of overworked her 🙂

I am grateful that the transition to going home is now very very clear to her and seems a lot simpler than we at first thought.

I am grateful that I was prodded into going for a run when I got home (and that I said yes to it).

I am grateful that my mom has so many friends who visit, send cards, and offer to help. Think about it – that’s my intention of how I want to live my life. I want to surround myself with a tribe of friends who I will support whenever they need it and who will do the same in return. I was scared that I didn’t really know how to develop and nurture those kinds of friends.I knew I had to pay attention to my bad habit of pushing folks away when they got too close, even though I desperately WANTED that.

I am grateful that all of that seems more foreign to me. That when I do start to have those self defeating thoughts, they are fleeting and much easier to sweep away.

Be kind, be loving, just be.

Leave a Reply

