March 8th GGID Journal

Dear me,

No true journal writing today – it’s rest day for the brain + soul. Instead, I thought I would document the birds I saw in my yard yesterday and today as I took my backyard breaks in the sunshine. Since I sit there either reading on my ipad (a silent function requiring very little movement), or just sit and watch the wind through the trees, or sit with my eyes closed – birds tend to view me as just another inanimate object after a bit. Consequently some rather shy, not always seen species came around AND I was able to see them and ID them clearly. No, I didn’t take these photos. No iphone would produce a quality photo and of course the birds would have flown away had I tried!

Hermit Thrush

Hermit Thrush

Orange Crowned Warbler

Orange Crowned Warbler

Yellow Rumped Warbler (aka, Butterbutt)

Yellow Rumped Warbler (aka, Butterbutt)

Townsend's Warbler

Townsend’s Warbler

Leave a Reply

