May 15, 2010

This was a monster hike today. Spent the first hour jogging from work to the southern entrance to the Flat Rock trail, stopping just a couple of times because of one unusual flower, then jogged back up the northern trail to the bathrooms. Well, jogged/walked I should say as my heart rate got pretty high about half way back up! At the top of that trail I made my first extended stop to listen to the bird song & try and spot some of them. The quails got my attention vocally but never made an appearance. Next I jogged down to the Guy Fleming trail. Total higher heart rate fitness was probably 45-60 mins. On Guy Fleming I purposefully slowed down to record & listen. There is a water spot there & I finally caught a nice glimpse of a wrentit. The trail was just too populated with non birding humans though 🙂 Lots of strollers and even a couple who carried a damn radio with them! WTF? I don’t wanna hear music fools – the trails provide their own!! I realized if I really wanted to hear and see anything I would have to go on Parry Grove since that trail is pretty daunting physically and the more casual hikers would avoid it. I was right – Parry Grove was heavenly. It did mean some more high heart rate fitness time coming back up – but that was 50% of my goal so no problemo. Slide show is below along with a list of birds seen/heard.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Birds positively identified by sight & sound:

Orange Crowned Warbler

Scrub Jay

California Towhee (They were all over the place. VERY active today)

Wrentit – very vocal. Saw one bathing in the water spout at Guy Fleming.

Anna’s Hummingbird – not as many as I anticipated though!

Bushtits

Bewick’s Wren

Brown Pelican – saw these from above of course, diving into the sea, but oddly did hear them too! Their voices carried up the cliff walls.

Common Raven

Birds identified by sound only:

California Quail

Ruby Crowned Kinglet

Song Sparrow

California Thrasher

Eastern (formerly Rufous Sided) Towhee

Bell’s Vireo

There was probably more, but it really was hard to pick them out as it was pretty darn noisy out there today – not just the humans! I was out between 9:45-12:15 and it was in the low 60s and cloudy (though not foggy) which I think brought them out. Plus it is nesting season so there are most likely babies to feed. Good time for foraging parents I guess. It is really hard to use those trails primarily for fitness. Even with just my iphone I cannot help stopping to take pictures or to listen more intently at the bird calls. OTOH having started off at work and pretty much hitting every step of possible trail – I did job/run/walk over at least 5 miles. Not a bad start to a Saturday 🙂

2 comments

  1. pixielation · May 16, 2010

    The slide show is gorgeous – i love that you can identify them too!

  2. Robin · May 21, 2010

    Hey! I recognize that low hanging dead tree on the Guy Fleming trail. 😀

    Gorgeous slide show. I’ll have to come back and compare flower shots so I can learn what they are (now that I’m going through my photos from our hike again).

Leave a Reply

